Motown Releases Tracklisting for Upcoming 'Detroit' Film

The soundtrack highlights the 'Classic Motown Sound'

July 26, 2017
Abandoned stretch of road in downtown Detroit, Michigan

© Andrey Bayda | Dreamstime

Detroit is set to hit theaters nationwide on August 4th with the iconic music of Motown ready to take center stage. 

The upcoming film stars John Boyega (Star Wars: The Force Awakens), Will Poulter (The Revenant), Jason Mitchell (Straight Outta Compton), Anthony Mackie (Captain America: The Winter Soldier), and John Krasinski (The Office) navigating their ways through the 1967 riots in the Motor City. Motown Recrods was tapped to capture the sounds of time.

Motown's president says the label was honored to work on the project, gathering up the original voices and talent behind that iconic 'Motown Sound'. They also recruited Grammy-winning hip hop group The Roots to create a brand new song to showcase the power of music in Detroit at that time and all around the world. Check out the incredible collection of tracks that featured on the forthcoming soundtrack.


  1. "If You Haven’t Got Love" – The Dramatics
  2. "Jimmy Mack" – Martha Reeves & The Vandellas
  3. "Baby Bunny (Sugar Honey)" – Jerry Williams
  4. "Your Precious Love" – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Tyrell
  5. "Till Johnny Comes" – Brenda Holloway
  6. "Larry’s Rescue" – James Newton Howard
  7. "It Ain’t Fair (feat. Bilal)" – The Roots
  8. "Devil’s Gotten Into My Baby" – The Devotions
  9. "The Cream Of The Crop" – Lee Rogers
  10. "All Because Of You" – The Dramatics
  11. "Larry’s Alone" – James Newton Howard
  12. "Grow" – Algee Smith
  13. "Heaven Must Have Sent You" – The Elgins
  14. "I Want To Talk About You" – John Coltrane